Board of Directors

The Board is the guardian of the purpose for which Beyond Blue was established – its vision, mission, values and beliefs. The Board fulfils its primary role by:

  • appointing and removing the Chief Executive Officer and monitoring performance
  • overseeing the development of, and approving, Beyond Blue's strategic plan
  • supporting the delivery of the strategic plan by ensuring adequate management of resources to achieve agreed corporate and performance objectives
  • providing input into, approving, and monitoring performance against Beyond Blue's annual budget and operating plan
  • monitoring, and where necessary, approving Beyond Blue's compliance with legal and regulatory requirements including external financial reporting
  • recommending to Members the appointment and/or removal of and monitoring the performance and ongoing independence of the auditor of Beyond Blue.

The Board has formally delegated responsibility for the day-to-day operation of Beyond Blue to the Chief Executive Officer and executive management team.

The Board oversees and monitors management’s performance by:

  • meeting at least four times per year
  • receiving detailed financial and other reports from management at these meetings and at other times as required
  • receiving additional information and input from management when necessary
  • assigning authority to the Audit, Finance and Risk Committee (which operates under Terms of Reference approved by the Board) to oversee particular areas of responsibility.

The Board thanks Jeff Kennett and welcomes Julia Gillard

Our Board of Directors

The Hon Julia Gillard AC

Chair, appointed December 2014

  • Chair of the Global Partnership for Education.
  • Distinguished Senior Fellow with the Center for Universal Education at the Brookings Institution in Washington.
  • Honorary Professor at the University of Adelaide.
  • Patron of Camfed, the Campaign for Female Education.
  • Patron the Layne Beachley Foundation.
  • Patron of the John Curtin Prime Ministerial Library, Perth.
  • 27th Prime Minister of Australia (2010-2013), and the first woman to ever serve as Australia’s Prime Minister.
  • As Prime Minister:
    • developed Australia’s guiding policy paper, Australia in the Asian Century
    • delivered nation-changing policies including reforming Australian education at every level from early childhood to university education, creating an emissions trading scheme, improving the provision and sustainability of health care, aged care and dental care, commencing the nation’s first ever national scheme to care for people with disabilities and restructuring the telecommunications sector as well as advancing a national broadband network
    • in foreign policy, strengthened Australia’s alliance with the United States, secured stronger architecture for the relationship with China, upgraded Australia’s ties with India, and deepened ties with Japan, Indonesia and South Korea
    • represented Australia at the G20, including winning Australia’s right to host the 2014 meeting, the East Asia Summit, APEC, NATO-ISAF and chaired CHOGM
    • Australia was elected to serve on the United Nations Security Council
  • 13th Deputy Prime Minister of Australia – 3 December 2007 until 24 June 2010, the first woman to ever serve as Australia’s Deputy Prime Minister.

Ms Georgie Harman

Beyond Blue CEO, appointed June 2014

  • Former Deputy CEO at the National Mental Health Commission.
  • Responsible for Commonwealth policy, and investment in mental health, suicide prevention, tobacco control, substance misuse, cancer and chronic disease at the Department of Health 2006-2012.
  • Responsible for design and implementation of major system reforms in mental health and organ and tissue donation.
  • Was the inaugural Executive Director for the Bobby Goldsmith Foundation in Sydney – Australia's first and largest independent HIV/AIDS charity.

Kate Carnell AO FAICD FAIM

Deputy Chair, appointed December 2016

  • The inaugural Australian Small Business and Family Enterprise Ombudsman (ASBFEO)
  • Former CEO of Australian Chamber of Commerce & Industry 
  • Former CEO of Beyond Blue
  • Former CEO of the Australian Food and Grocery Council and Australian General Practice Network
  • Former member of the ACT Parliament including as ACT Chief Minister
  • A pharmacist by profession and was the inaugural chair of the ACT Branch of the Pharmacy Guild of Australia and the first female to become the National Vice-President of the Pharmacy Guild of Australia.

Professor Michael Baigent

Appointed June 2011

  • Associate Professor of Psychiatry at Flinders University.
  • Clinical academic specialising in mental health and drug and alcohol addiction.
  • Clinical Advisor to Beyond Blue from 2006–2011.

Professor Michael Kidd AM

Appointed December 2011

  • Executive Dean of Medicine, Nursing and Allied Health at Flinders University.
  • General Practitioner with a special interest in the care of people with HIV.
  • Past Professor of General Practice at The University of Sydney.
  • Past President of the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners.
  • President-elect of the World Organization of Family Doctors (2013–16).

Mr Paul Howes

Appointed February 2014

  • Partner in Charge of Customer, Brand & Marketing Advisory and National Sector Leader of Asset & Wealth Management at KPMG.
  • Past National Secretary of The Australian Workers’ Union.
  • Former Deputy Chair and Director of AustralianSuper.
  • Formerly Vice President of the Australian Council of Trade Unions.
  • Former Director of the National Workforce and Productivity Development Agency, the McKell Institute, International Trade Remedies Forum.

Ms Johanna Griggs

Appointed June 2014

  • Television presenter, Seven Network.
  • In September 2009 Griggs was awarded an honorary Doctor of Letters Honoris Causis – from Macquarie University in NSW for services to swimming, media and charity fundraising.
  • A former competitive swimmer she represented Australia, winning Bronze at the Auckland Commonwealth Games in 1990, and a silver at the 1991 World Championships.

Dr Mukesh Haikerwal AC 

Appointed April 2015

  • Chair of the Advisory Committee for Beyond Blue’s National Doctors’ Mental Health Program since 2009.
  • Chairman of Council for the World Medical Association (2011-2015).
  • National President of the Australian Medical Association (2005-2007).

Dr Jessica Dean

Appointed August 2015

  • Former President of the Australian Medical Students’ Association.
  • Federal Councillor of the Australian Medical Association.
  • Founder of sexual health promotion organisation ‘The Nookie Project’.
  • Dr Dean has completed a Bachelor of Medicine and Law from Monash University, and has an internship at Monash Health from January 2016.

The Hon. Robert Knowles AO

Appointed 1 February 2017

  • Former Victorian Minister for Health (1996-1999) and MLC for Ballarat (1976-1999).
  • Currently Chairman of the Mental Health Council of Australia.
  • Chairman of Campus Council at The Royal Children's Hospital Melbourne.
  • Director of Silver Chain / RDNS South Australia.
  • Member of the Deans External Advisory Council for the Faculty of Medicine, Health Sciences & Nursing at the University of Melbourne.
  • Director of the Brotherhood of St Laurence.

Stay in touch with us

Sign up below for regular emails filled with information, advice and support for you or your loved ones.

Sign me up